I was reminding the Feis Ile 2016 Masterclass when Octomore Black Art was first presented. If you missed the introduction you can look at it here

If you have not seen the introduction. Please take 10 minutes to watch the MasterClass 2016. It should start around 51 minutes. Listen to Adam Hannett.

Please note that Adam mentions the youngest whisky is from 2007. Not 2008 as we can see in the recipe.

I got my OBA in an as the Nerd that I am I naturally did an unboxing.

Now I have been nosing and tasting for half an hour and these are the notes I made neat. n is for nose, m is for mouth.

Nr. Head Sub Descriptors

OBA

4

A: Peaty 2. Smokey Wood Smoke

m

5

A: Peaty 2. Smokey Kippery

m

6

A: Peaty 2. Smokey Smoked bacon

n

11

B: Grainy 1. Cereal Digestive biscuit

n

14

B: Grainy 1. Cereal Leathery

n

15

B: Grainy 1. Cereal Tobacco

n

17

B: Grainy 2. Malt Malt extract

m

18

B: Grainy 2. Malt Malted barley

m

19

B: Grainy 3. Mash Porridge

n

21

B: Grainy 2. Malt Wort

n

28

C: Grassy 2. Dried Hay

n

37

D: Fruity 2. Orchard Peaches

n

39

D: Fruity 3. Tropical Pear-drop

n

46

D: Fruity 4. Citrus Zest

n

48

D: Fruity 5. Berries Black Currant

m

50

D: Fruity 6. Dried Raisins

n

77

G: Woody Extractive 5. Nutty Walnut

n

81

G: Woody Extractive 6. Vanilla Cola

m

92

G: Woody Extractive 8. Caramel Coffee

m

94

G: Woody Extractive 8. Caramel Liquorice

n

155

L. Oily 4. Fat Fish oil

n

158

P. Primary taste 2. Salt

m

164

Mouth effect 2. Coating Oily/creamy feeling

m

165

Mouth effect 3. Warming Alcoholic burn

m

166

Mouth effect 3. Warming Fiery

m

As I am writing this blog and I am adding “mint” to the nose. And oranges. I you rub some between your hands you will get malted barley. Now I am getting watermelon on the nose. Peat on the finish. More to come? I am sure this will open up with water, but for now I am enjoying it neat!

IMG_1525
What’s with the scruffy beard?!

The Octomore OBA is obviously a dram we will never know the content about but some information is given on the Bruichladdich website. Enter 17/143 as the batch number.

octomore_casks
RECIPE: Screen capture from the website

Some photo’s for people to enjoy.

 

