On Friday the 24th of March 2017 at 20:00 CET the people from The House Of Malt organized a Twitter Tasting. The #HOMsecret was used for coordinating all notes!

The twitter tasting was organized to taste three independent bottlings of unknown distilleries. What was known was this:

  1. House of Malt Highland 10 Year Old Single Malt Whisky, 700 ml, 43% ABv
  2. House of Malt Speyside 15 Year Old Single Malt Whisky, 700 ml, 40% ABv
  3. House of Malt Islay 10 Year Old Single Malt Whisky, 700 ml, 43% ABv

The tasting was fun! lots of opinions and notes and insights. The secret which dram was which was not spoiled. It is still unknown to me which dram is from which distillery.

I could give you my notes on these drams and I shall.

  1. The Highland:
    Nose: honey, heather, prickling the nostrils, floral. Later some anise.
    Palette: liquorice, bit spicy, drying, pear, oily when adding water. Pear-drops.
  2. The Speyside:
    Nose:Vanilla, cream, nuts, leather?
    Palette: buttery, sharp, something I cant fathom thats putting me slightly off, *frown*, tea?
  3. The Islay:
    Nose: reminds me of Rum Matured Bruichladdich on first nose. Later I thought this would be a Laphroaig. I must say I liked it to much to make notes!

For me the winner of these three was the Islay Malt, than the Highland, than the Speyside.

Thank you House of Malt and Maltman Mike for sending there drams over! Excellent tasting and Excellent drams! Ok, not to fond of the Speyside, but that’s just my personal point of view!

