After 6 months of maturation the result of the maturation is complete. The result is an amazing deep copper dram. There has been significant angel share but I can live with that! Will add notes and tasting later

iLaddie

For my birthday, I got a small barrel and two bottles of Wasmund’s Single malt whiskey. I want to experiment with comparing new make single malt and different times of aging. So I plan to put this kit together, fill it with 62% spirit and let it mature for 3 month, draw a sample, repeat drawing a sample every month and seeing how it matures. I have written multiple blogs about the influence of fresh American White Oak, but till now I just had to sample ready made spirits and some new make samples. See this blog link to a comparison between new and ages Journeyman Spirit.

So when you get your own barrel kit, it look like the picture below. A compact well made cardboard box filled with 2 700 ml bottles of new make spirit. A single malt spirit is the version I got. I wanted this over…

View original post 807 more words

