First reaction to the Bruichladdich Port Charlotte LaddieMP5 tasting was “OMG!” … or as we say in Dutch “Heilige Schijt!”. Please don’t translate this back to English if you don’t want to be offended. Translate to Scottish anytime you like!

I want to thank Adam Hannett for answering the question I asked . The question being: Is there a relationship between ABV and speed of Alcohol – Wood interaction?

The answer was given at about 44:00 minutes into the stream. I will have to re-re-re watch it for many times and listen very carefully to what Adam said, because he said it only ones!

Please take the time to watch the stream yourself and listen to all the know-how that is being given by Adam and Allan.

I would have to taste again, which I will, to add proper notes to this blog about the drams, but I also realise the utter uselessness since all the drams are sold out.  I will therefor talk about the difference in Flavour and Nose you may expect from the different finishes.

All the drams are aged 10 years. All distilled in close proximity to each other, seen from a timeframe point of view. I mean Stills do not move around a lot! More information can be found on the Bruichladdich website: https://www.bruichladdich.com/article/laddiemp5-the-port-charlotte-drams

c2jlegdxgaajz-q

Cask 1999, Fresh Bourbon Matured

This is a sorta classic style Bruichladdich PC. Very fruity, floral! Subdued Peat! I personally love it! The ppm was 40 as I remember the YouTube comments. This goes for all the drams. This means this is about demonstrating the difference between casks and how the “same” spirit is affected by it.

c2jqqkawgaa2hdh
Cask 0013, Bourbon finished in Bordeaux

The red wine finish really add all kinds of nutty, red fruit influences. Normally I am not fond of this in overly sherry / port matured drams, but this Bordeaux finish is absolutely beautiful! I will add more noted to this blog in future tastings.

c2jwbtyxaai_bcw
Virgin French oak finish for 6 months

The first reaction to this nose was “Rye Whisky!” … Why? It had the Spicy nose I smell on a mixed Rye / Corn mash bill. This will be my Whisky Nerd Gold medal winner for sure if nothing else comes along, because this dram will spark LOADS of Whisky Nerd questions that need to be answered.

The wood on the “Virgin Oak” is French Oak. From the visit to the warehouse 6 I did in October 2016 I know there is more of this around but then it holds Octomore!

The closest dram on the nose it reminded me of was a Corsair Triple Smoke Single malt from the USA. This Corsair dram is matured in Virgin American Oak. This sparks question why these noses are so alike. Wonderfull Nerd Questions to be asked and answered!

The taste took me back almost instantly to a Noah’s Mill Bourbon whisky. The wonderful spiciness on this USA bourbon was the first thing it reminded me of. Mind you if I say Bourbon I am not revering to “simplistic” Bourbons like Four Roses or Jack Daniels Black label (sorry guys! no insult intended!!), but more like Bookers and Willet Distillery stuff.

A fair warning to Scotch Single Malt whisky drinkers who have not yet experienced the beauty of a USA Bourbon / Rye mash-bill. Your first reply to this Bruichladdich may be that you are offended by it. I can understand this. I personally have spend some time exploring Bourbon / Rye / Millet / Wheat Whiskeys and they all bring something I learned a lot from.

For Bruichladdich also a heads up for possible future reactions. I personally would absolutely LOVE a style of Port Charlotte that is finished in Virgin French Oak, but this would mean accepting the possibility of losing (suppressing) the floral and fruity base-notes that PC and Bruichladdich is known for. The influence of Virgin Oak is not to be underestimated. Bring it on!!  LOL

 

 

 

