On my instagram I posted a photo with the question what I should blog about next.

img_0040

The first answer I got was from a Dutch blogger called the whiskygirl. Her blog can be found on http://whiskygirl.nl/

She suggested I blog about the last dram I had. The last dram I had was the Noah’s Mill by Willett distillery from the USA.

This dram has been awarded the following merits:

  • Gold Medal 2005 San Francisco World Spirits Competition
  • Double Gold Medal 2012 San Francisco World Spirits Competition
  • Four Stars/Highly Recommended by F. Paul Pacult’s Spirit Journal
  • Robb Report’s Best of the Best 2007: Spirits
  • Ranked #1 out of 13 Bourbons, Louisville Magazine’s 1998-1999 “Eats” Issue
  • 93 Rating from Jim Murray’s 2012 Whisky Bible

Multiple versions of this dram exist. I have the 2015 and 2016 bottlings. These versions do not have waxed tops. Older versions have an age statement of 15 years on the label. These have not.

I first drank this dram in a whisky bar “Hackendahl” in Berlin, Germany in march 2016. The ambience of this bar made me return to this bar in October 2016. I selected a single barrel Blantons.

My first experience with Noah’s mill was excellent, unexpected, powerful and a thing to remember. I fell in love with the nose, the taste, the finish and the colour. This I had to have again!

hackendahl-siebert-2-hp-slide-639x330
Hackendahl Berlin

So I ordered a bottle.  When that was gone I had my local liquorstore order one more. This week I opened that one up and I have been sampling and enjoying it.

I will add tasting notes to this blog later. I have bloged about this whisky before. I have set myself a task to explode USA bourbon whiskeys. I also bought other bourbons. Till now this bourbon has been my favorite, followed by Willett Family Estate Bottled Single Barrel Rye 3yo and the Buffolo Trace 15yo experimental collection.

If you haven’t had a Noah’s Mill I would suggest you buy it if you can find it. Get the wax top if you can. If you find it with 15yo age statement and wax top, give me a message 😉

