What happens to the colour of a drink if you add E150a Caramel Colour to an alcoholic beverage? How much caramel would you need in order to get a rich sherry matured look? Many people ask me such question in reply to the E150 I added to a Lagavulin 8 yo some time ago.

So in order to find this out I bought some stuff so I can experiment for myself. .

What I plan to do is;

  • adding one millilitre to my bottle of Bruichladdich, Botanist Gin
  • mixing really well,
  • taking a photo using my professional photo gear using one ISO setting, on aperture, one shutter-speed, one flash-setting,
  • adding another millilitre to my bottle of Bruichladdich, Botanist Gin
  • mixing really well,
  • etc,
  • until the colour is absurdly dark and totally not representative.

With those photo’s I will do some neutral gray colour correction on all the images in ADOBE Lightroom 4. Possibly look at the spectrum etc and make list and graphs and stuff. All very nerdy